The South African take on the America–British–Canadian Fellowship


  • Michael Held University of Cape Town
  • Phil Walmsley University of St Andrews
  • Paul Baker University of York
  • Arul Ramasamy Imperial College London
  • Amir Sandiford St George’s University Hospital
  • Luke Johnson Flinders University
  • Michael Rosenfeldt Unisports Sports Medicine Clinic


It was a great privilege to experience the American-British-Canadian (ABC) Fellowship during the 2018 tour through North America. The following passages will introduce the fellowship and its history, and provide feedback relevant to orthopaedic practice in South Africa.

Author Biographies

Michael Held, University of Cape Town

PhD FC Orth(SA), Consultant Orthopaedic Surgeon,  Knee Unit, Groote Schuur Hospital & Orthopaedic Research Unit, University of Cape Town, South Africa

Phil Walmsley, University of St Andrews

MD FFSTEd FRCS(Tr&Orth), Consultant Orthopaedic Surgeon & Honorary Senior Lecturer, Trauma and Orthopaedic Department, Victoria Hospital, Hayfield Road, Kirkcaldy & University of St Andrews.

Paul Baker, University of York

MSc MD DipStat FRCS(Tr&Orth) Consultant Orthopaedic Surgeon,  South Tees Hospital NHS Foundation Trust and the University of York

Arul Ramasamy, Imperial College London

MA PhD FRCS(Tr&Orth) RAMC Consultant Orthopaedic Surgeon & Senior Lecturer,  The Royal British Legion Centre for Blast Injuries Studies, Imperial College London, South Kensington

Amir Sandiford, St George’s University Hospital

MSc FRCS(Tr&Orth), Consultant Orthopaedic Surgeon,  St George’s University Hospital, London

Luke Johnson, Flinders University

BSc FRACS(Ortho) FAOrthA Consultant Orthopaedic Surgeon,  South Australia Bone Tumour Unit, Flinders University & Flinders Centre for Innovation in Cancer

Michael Rosenfeldt, Unisports Sports Medicine Clinic

BHB FRACS, Consultant Orthopaedic Surgeon,  Unisports Sports Medicine Clinic & Counties Manukau DHB, Auckland, New Zealand






South African Orthopaedic Association

Most read articles by the same author(s)